This is the "Find Information" page of the "US History Textbook Project" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Home Home Databases Research guides resources catalog Moodle Facebook

Last Updated: Nov 4, 2015 URL: http://wfbschools.libguides.com/textbook Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Find Information Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

US History in Context

Search for magazine, newspaper, and primary source documents.

 

American History

 

Historical Newspapers

Historical Newspapers

This database contains original articles from The New York Times, Chicago Daily Tribune, Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post from the time the papers began.  A helpful timeline allows you to search specifically for time periods related to your topics.

 

Primary Sources

SIRS Decades

This database contains American primary source documents from the 20th Century.

The Primary Source research guide contains even more links to useful sites containing primary sources.

 

Your Task

As a group, you will be creating textbook chapters covering a particular topic.  This will require determining what information will be covered, researching your themes and topics, writing, editing, and putting it all together in a textbook format.

This page will guide you to databases, books, and websites that will help you find accurate information which you can synthesize with your own words and thoughts to create your book.

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Online reference books - great for all topics!

 

Find Books in the WFBHS Library

Type your search terms into the box to find books in the LMC. A keyword search is a good place to begin.

Find:
Search Keywords Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects
 

Best U.S. History Websites

The following pages from PBS provide a variety of information in the form of video clips, documents, maps, timelines, and more.

PBS - The West

PBS - Chicago: City of the Century

PBS - The Civil War

PBS - The National Parks


The Library of Congress American Memory
Collections of photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and digitized text all make this an awesome experience to explore.


History Matters 
A "US Survey Course on the Web,"  this site is both a gateway to web resources and a gathering place for people practicing history.

National Archives and Records Administration
Archives, exhibits, census records, Hot Topics, and more allows research to research people and explore featured exhibits drawing from our nation's archives.


Our Documents
Offering 100 milestone documents, compiled by the National Archives and Records Administration, this site chronicles United States history from 1776 to 1965.

Digital History
An up-to-date U.S. history textbook that includes annotated primary sources on United States, Mexican American, and Native American history, and slavery, along with succinct essays on the history of ethnicity and immigration, film, private life, and science and technology. The Doing History feature lets users reconstruct the past through the voices of children, gravestones, advertising, and other primary sources. The site's Ask the HyperHistorian feature allows users to pose questions to professional historians.

Want to suggest a "Best" U.S. History Website?  Leave a comment below and we'll review. Great general links will be added here. 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip