- ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Includes articles from the New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, and Chicago Tribune from the 1800s to 2001. (Login: wfbhs, bay)
- Chronicling America:Historic American Newspapers
This collection from the Library of Congress contains digitized historic newspaper pages from papers throughout the country, specifically covering the time period from 1836-1922.
- Access Newspaper Archives
This database covers not only papers from the US, but also select countries around the world, with dates as current as 2010.
- Newspaper Source Plus
This database contains articles from newspapers across the country from a more current time period, with most papers dating back to about the 1980s.
Look for these reference books in the LMC.
Milestone Documents in World History
Call Number: R 909 MIL
125 primary source documents from virtually every geographical region including important documents such as the Magna Carta, the Communist Manifesto, and the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo.
Call Number: R 959.704 VIE
Get a variety of perspectives on how Americans really felt about their country's involvement in the Vietnam War with excerpts from screenplays, literature, speeches and hearings representing pro and con viewpoints during and after the conflict.
American Decades Primary Documents
Call Number: R 973.91 AME
Each Primary Sources volume covers a decade in American history. Each volume includes approximately 165 full-text or excerpted historical documents from the period representing a diversity of views that provide insight into the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from the decade. These documents include advertisements, commercials, diaries, literary works, newspaper articles, memoirs, periodical articles, speeches and other types of primary source materials.
- American Memory - LOC
American Memory provides free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity.
- Gilder Lehrman Institute of US History
The collection includes more than 60,000 letters, diaries, maps, pamphlets, printed books, newspapers, photographs, and ephemera that document the political, social, and economic history of the United States ranging from 1493 through the twentieth century.
- The Avalon Project
The Avalon Project collects digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government.
- New York State Historical Society: Manuscripts Relating to Slavery
The library of the New-York Historical Society holds a substantial collection of manuscript materials documenting American slavery and the slave trade in the Atlantic world. They consist of diaries, account books, letter books, ships’ logs, indentures, bills of sale, personal papers, and records of institutions.
- United States History in Context
- World History in Context
Along with magazine, newspaper, and reference articles, these databases allow users to search specifically for primary documents. Choose that option above the search box.
- SIRS Decades
SIRS Decades: 20th Century American Sources, contains Primary Source and reference content from America in the 20th century.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Contains a reference book series entitled Social Issues Primary Sources Collection, which includes topics such as medicine, the environment, immigration, terrorism, and many more.
Environmental Issues in American History
Call Number: 333.7 MAG
In this exhaustively researched study, primary documents support different sides of various questions, such as the use of water as an energy source, deforestation, gold mining in California, and the emergence of wildlife conservation.
Encyclopedia of the Age of the Industrial Revolution
Call Number: R 330.9 ENC
Contains information on notable people, places, events, and developments of the Industrial Revolution from 1700 to 1920; long with twenty-nine related primary documents.