This is the "Databases" page of the "Honors Advanced Composition Research Paper" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Home Home Databases Research guides resources catalog Moodle Facebook

Honors Advanced Composition Research Paper  

Last Updated: Nov 4, 2015 URL: http://wfbschools.libguides.com/honorsadcomp Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

CURRENT EVENTS DATABASES

The databases on this page focus on current events and controversial issues, and are the recommended starting points for information on your topic.

Working from home and online newspaper access

     

    Opposing Viewpoints in Context

    This resource covers many modern social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration.

    SIRS Researcher has a variety of current and historic government documents; landmark and recent U.S. Supreme Court decisions; information about U.S. Justices, U.S. Presidents, elected leaders, federal departments and agencies.

    logo

    Explores hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture.


    EBSCO provides access to many different databases, each covering specific topics. The most commno are chosen for this search box, but click on "choose databases" after you search to select different options that are most relevant for your topic.


    Research databases
    Limit Your Results


    These are searchable online reference books. While not in-depth, you might find a nice overview of your topic here.


    LOCAL INFORMATION

    These web sites might be helpful as you focus on a local topic.  If you come across another great site for local news, paste it in the comments below and we can add it for everyone to use.

     

    SEARCHING LOCAL NEWSPAPERS

    Newspaper Source Plus carries full-text articles from the Wisconsin State Journal, UWM Post, The Daily Reporter, and a variety of other local papers from around the state.  Follow these steps to specifically search these newspapers for local articles.

    Check the publications you would like to search and click Add, then Search. Once you have results, you can add terms to the search box to narrow those results.

     

    CQ Researcher

    CQ Researcher

    CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.

     

    Full reports are about 30 pages long, so be mindful of what you choose to print.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip