This is the "Databases" page of the "Health Advocacy Project" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Home Home Databases Research guides resources catalog Moodle Facebook

Health Advocacy Project  

Last Updated: Oct 5, 2015 URL: http://wfbschools.libguides.com/health Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

DATABASE TIPS

CHECK SPELLING

Not all databases will fix your spelling for you.  If you don't get any results, check that you spelled everything correctly.

USE THE PRINT BUTTON

Use the print button provided by the database so that everything is formatted properly.  The example to the right is from the US History in Context database. Don't print by clicking file > print.

CREATE WORKS CITED PAGE IMMEDIATELY

Most databases will provide the article citation near the bottom of the page.  Copy and paste this citation into a Word document and keep a running list.  You can edit this page later to make sure everything is correct.

 

DATABASES VS WEBSITES

Library databases bring together magazine and newspaper articles, books, encyclopedias, and other reference works to one easily searchable location. 

Anything found in a database is considered a PRINT source, because these documents were originally published in print. 

As with any source, you need to EVALUATE the information for any inaccuracies or bias, but the chart below outlines some of the general differences between web sites and databases.

Databases

Web Sites

Information is written by professionals or experts in the field.

 

Can be written or created by anyone regardless of expertise.

Contain articles, books, and other sources that have been published in print. This generally means the works were edited and/or fact-checked.

 

Content is not necessarily checked by an expert.

Easy to cite in a bibliography and may create the citation for you.

 

Often don’t provide the information necessary to create a complete citation.

Information is organized and tagged with subject headings to help you find what you need.

Often are not organized to support student research needs.

 

ISSUES & CONTROVERSIES

Best for more CONTROVERSIAL topics.

 

CQ RESEARCHER

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.

 The reports are LONG, so only print what you need.

 

CURRENT HEALTH TOPICS

These are the SUGGESTED databases for health topics.

Not every database will work for every topic, so if you don;t get what you are looking for, try another option.

Additional databases on different topics can be found by clicking DATABASES in the header.

Did you forget the PASSWORDS you need to log in from home?  

Working from home

     

    OPPOSING VIEWPOINTS

    This resource covers many modern social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration.

     

    ONLINE REFERENCE BOOKS

     

    EBSCO

    This search box only uses SOME of the databases available through EBSCOhost.  You can see the list below the search box

    Once you search, use the LIMITERS to narrow down your results.  DATE and SUBJECT are two of the best.

    Research databases
    Limit Your Results
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip